Friday, 8 January 2016

Meet Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang, The Winner of Glo CAF Awards 2015 African Player Of The Year

Gabon’s Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang has been named African Footballer of the Year following the ceremony the Glo/CAF awards held Thursday night in Abuja, beating Yaya Toure and Ghana’s Andre Ayew to the title.

Yaya Toure of Ivory Coast who had won the award for four consecutive years relinguished his dominance of the continent’s football after the loss.

The event held at the International Conference Centre has given the Gabonese the biggest individual award in African football. Samuel Eto’o of Cameroon is the only other player to have won the African biggest label for four consecutive years.

Mbwana Aly Samatta of Botswana was voted the African Player of the Year Based in Africa.

Most Promising Talent was given to Oghenekaro Etebo of the Nigeria U-23 team. It was double for Nigeria talent-wise as Victor Osimhen of the Golden Eaglets won the Youth Player of the Year. Coach of the Year was given to Herve Renard who coached the Ivory Coast to the 2015 African cup. The former coach of Zambia beat Nigeria’s Emmanuel Amunike who led Nigeria to the 2015 FIFA U-15 trophy.

Gaelle Enganamouit of Cameroon beat Nigeria’s Ngozi Ebere to the Women’s Player of the Year. Referee of the Year went to Bakary Papa Gassama of The Gambia. African Legends awards were presented to both Charles Gyamfi (Ghana) and Samuel Leppe (Cameroon).

Ivory Coast won National Team of the Year. They beat Ghana Black Stars and Nigeria U-17 side. Cameroonian ladies were voted the Women’s National Team of the Year. The Fair Play award went to Allez Casa of Senegal – the Senegalese football supporters club. TP Mazembe are the Club of the Year. They won the last CAF Champions League.

You May Also Like These Related Posts

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...